Uncategorized

Day 6: A No Brainer

Buffy the Vampire Slayer is my favorite television show of all time. Next in line would be anything else Joss Whedon has ever created, produced, written or breathed on. So today when I discovered that the blog, whedonesque.com, is doing a giveaway for the Joss Whedon biography, entry was a no brainer. 

tumblr_inline_n9mvphwhM51qfft5m

This is so beautiful it brings tears to my eyes. 

In order to enter this one I had to email the team at Whedonesqe with my favorite Joss Whedon scene. The catch is there is no best scene, just great scenes and greater scenes. Yes I know how I sound. No I don’t care. 

tumblr_n2nnnjHwlP1rfduvxo1_500

I chose a scene from the season four episode of Buffy called “The Yoko Factor”,  where the scoobies (a nick name created for Buffy and her closest friends) have a fight. Spike has told them all subtle lies that poke at each characters vulnerabilities, which have been festering all season.Giles gets humorously drunk, 

tumblr_muxhatfwQj1r8gsqgo1_250

while Buffy, Willow and Xander have it out in his living room. Two of their significant others, Anya and Tara, slink away to hide in the bathroom to make awkward small talk and avoid getting sucked in.

tumblr_lgqovfFHtU1qgbabho1_500

The fight ends with Buffy storming out stating, “And you know what? I’m starting to get why there’s no ancient prophesy about a Chosen One and her Friends.

tumblr_mnj8e5hDcJ1qzn70jo1_500

I could go on and on about reasons why this scene, or any scene, is amazing but at the risk of turning Sweepstakes Sweepstakes into Whedonesqe 2.0 I will just leave you with these 10 Joss Whedon moments and pray to Glorificus that you take the plunge.  

Be glad I’m getting this out of my system early. 

Money spent to date: $2
Winnings to date: $2
Catch: Getting sucked into re-watching Buffy, Angel, Dollhouse, Firefly, Serenity, Avengers, Cabin in the Woods, Dr. Horrible and Much Ado About Nothing…see ya never. 

Leave a Reply

